Polly Pocket Fiasco

7 Dec

Oh the things we go through at Christmas!  I asked my (crafty, talented) sister for ideas for Christmas for her 3 and 4 year old girls.  She responded with a Polly Pocket storage bag for all of the little pieces.  At first I was excited and began ironing fleece on some Amy Butler fabric.  Then I decided that I would serge the edges and possibly make a little play world on the inside when you open it up.  I excitedly began to cut, iron and dream….until my husband commented that what I was doing was huge for a little girl toy with tiny accessories.  My bubble burst and I looked at it with new eyes.  He was right!  I was making a huge bag that looked halfway between a table runner and a placemat.  I began to cut and then put the project away for another day.

I’ve since gone to the store, bought Polly Pockets (which I’m not familiar with b/c my daughter is only 1) and decided that I’m going to start all over again.  My thoughts are a cross between a purse and a crayon roll.  I’ll let you know my progress on my not-so-easy, easy project 😉

1st try and starting over!

One Response to “Polly Pocket Fiasco”

  1. Virginia December 9, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    I think I’m going to try something like this instead:
    http://uklassinus.blogspot.com/2008/08/fabric-dollhouse-tutorial.html
    Then put some elastic in a strip to hold the dolls and a few pockets to hold the accessories =)
    Now if I can only get that done along with everything else before Christmas!

Leave a Reply

