Pattern Review: Heidi and Finn Girly Cardigan

13 Dec

Overall I really enjoyed making this girly cardigan from Heidi and Finn!  I thought it turned out really well and was quick to put together.

A few things I liked:

  • The instructions and pictures were well organized.
  • The instructions and patterns came quickly right into my email!
  • The multiple size options & they’re color coded & look very nice.  (Yes, at work I’m this particular about things too!)
  • I loved the way it turned out and I’m looking forward to making more with this pattern as well as with the others.

A few things I would like to see:

  • A separation of the pattern pieces.  The sleeves and main body pieces overlapped so if you’re like me and print out 1 copy of the pattern, it’s a bit confusing as well as a pain to print it twice (especially if you’re out of printer ink and are running to the ups store!) it’s my own fault that I didn’t look through the pattern first before printing though.  I read through the instructions but not the pattern =(
  • Some suggestions for materials to use.  I like to get people’s ideas on what works best.  I don’t want to spend a lot of time on something and have it not turn out b/c it isn’t the best fabric choice.  I noticed on the other patterns I purchased from them that there are material suggestions.

I love how it turned out!  A few things I did:

  • I used a white fleece on the outside and a pink jersey knit on the inside.
  • The ties were a little long, so I shortened them.
  • I would say this is a snug fit and would probably go up a size the next time.  (Only b/c of the baby belly =)
  • I didn’t pin the pleats in the trim, I just serged an inch and overlapped a bit more and then serged some more.  Then I didn’t have to mess with the pins.  I know, I cheat.
  • I added a ribbon loop to hang it (it’s a bit off, but I threw it in at the last minute.)

What else do you want to know?  Leave me a comment and I’ll answer.

Leave a Reply

