Sew A-Long

11 Mar

I’ve read the section on drafting a pattern for skirts and am excited to start. I am a bit nervous however because I’m sporting a 19 week belly that will only be getting larger. I was thinking that I would go under the belly with the skirt, but not sure if I could get it to stay up. Any of you have any luck with making maternity clothes? I’m up for the challenge and will let you know what I come up with.

Craziness – we have an Open House this Sunday, anyone want a house in Western Michigan? It’s a beautiful area =) I’m a ball of anxiety as work is getting busier, belly is getting bigger, toddler is running and the house needs to stay clean. Here’s hoping I have time to sew this in time for Kitschy Coo’s Deadline of March 20! (Now if only my sister would join in….I have an extra book for her….hint hint!)

2 Responses to “Sew A-Long”

  1. Kitschy Coo March 12, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    I think you should definitely draft it to go under the bump rather than trying to accommodate it. The back piece would be normal height, the front would have a fairly deep curve to go under your bump. If you get your hip bone measurement right (either low waist or high hip, I can’t remember!) I don’t think you’ll have a problem with it falling down. Or you could alway make a thick waistband out of lycra / spandex knit to give you room for growth and stay-up-ability!

    • Virginia March 12, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Thank you! I think I’ll try the low front on my muslin. I’ll let you know how it goes =) By the way, my sister isn’t going to do the sew-a-long, so you could do a giveaway on your site and I’ll mail it within the US – my treat =)

Leave a Reply

