Pattern Review: Heidi and Finn Little Pleated Tunic

16 Jun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is a review for the Heidi and Finn Little Pleated Tunic. Please don’t judge me on my photos.  These were taken with my video camera on a vacation.

A few things I liked:

  • My daughter, husband and I love the finished product!
  • The sizing seems to be right on.
  • Quick Sew.  If you have the patterns cut out or already traced, you’re looking at a nap time sewing project =)
  • The pictures every step along the way.
  • The typed instructions and computerized pattern to follow.
  • Easy to get on and off the kids.

A few things I would like to see changed:

  • The marking where the pleats go are confusing.  When you fold it, it doesn’t really make sense.  I ended up just making my pleats where I wanted, making sure that the front and back would still come together well.
  • The instructions for sewing the sides and seams were a bit confusing also.  The photos helped explain the words, but again, for someone who hasn’t sewn clothing before it could be a bit frustrating.  If you know how shirts go together, it’s not confusing at all.
  • I followed the directions for the neckline just so I could review it.  It didn’t iron and fold over the easiest.  Again, it all works out and I’m being picky just for the case of the review.

A few things I did/will try differently:

  • If you read my other review for Heidi and Finn I complained about the pattern pieces overlapping.  I finally did what you’re supposed to do and traced the pattern pieces in the size that I wanted.  It worked so much better this way.
  • I used my new foot I got for Mother’s Day that marks off the 5/8″ seam allowance without frustration!  Thanks to my hubby!  It also allowed me to do a second line of stitching and line it up perfectly.

Overall – I would highly recommend it.  My daughter is so comfortable in it!  I actually plan on making more and adding to the length a bit to make it more of a dress.

What else do you want to know?  Leave me a comment and I’ll answer.

2 Responses to “Pattern Review: Heidi and Finn Little Pleated Tunic”

  1. Trail's Crafts June 17, 2010 at 3:44 am #

    Cute tunic.

  2. Virginia June 17, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

