Something to think about….

25 Jan

I have a confession to make….I’m a worrier.  I really wasn’t much of one before I had kids.  Now, it’s full-blown worrying.

What if something happens to me when I’m alone with the kids!  How do I know that my husband’s business is going to be ok in this economy.  What if this fever in my toddler is something more.  Do we have enough in our savings account?  What if my brain tumor comes back?  Is that why I’m getting headaches again?  Did my eyes just cross again?!  (Watch my story here)

These anxious thoughts can take over my most precious moments with my kids and family.  Why?

I struggle with letting go of things and realizing that I’m not in control.  God is.  I need to just trust in Him.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” – Philippians 4:8

The verse doesn’t say ‘whatever is false, whatever is wrong, whatever is evil and scary and full of anxiety, think about such things’ ~ sounds crazy, huh!?  If I admit (and some of you too!) this is really what can happen on a daily basis.

So, let’s work on: 2 Corinithians 10:5

5 I destroy every claim and every reason that keeps people from knowing God. I keep every thought under control in order to make it obey Christ.

If I don’t start every day with God, laying my worries, anxiety, frustrations at His feet, it’s a day that can unwind into chaos in my mind.  I also find that journaling – writing things down – helps me to sort through my thoughts.  It sounds silly when you write them down sometimes.

Do you struggle with anxiety?  What do you do?

 

Leave a Reply

